Sports Hall of Fame

A tradition since 1993, the Northwestern Sports Hall of Fame recognizes and honors outstandinga chievement by Northwestern student-athletes, coaches and others whose efforts contribute to the success of athletics at Northwestern. Each year, the luncheon and induction ceremony take place on a Saturday in January or February coinciding with home basketball games.

Nominations for the Sports Hall of Fame are reviewed by the Hall of Fame Committee, consisting of the director of athletics, the associate director of athletics, the director of athletic communications, the director of alumni relations and two to three at-large members. Committee members consider all nominees in a comprehensive manner, including scholarship and citizenship, as well as their records of achievement as a player or coach. Check below to learn more about the nomination process.


Deadline for nominations is October 1.
  • Players must have attended school and participated at Northwestern for at least two years and may be considered for induction five years after completion of their collegiate participation.

  • Though the primary purpose is to honor players for their achievements while at Northwestern, prior or subsequent achievement that contributes positively to the reputation of the university may also be considered.

  • Coaches must have been at Northwestern for a minimum of five years to be considered for induction. Coaches become eligible for induction three years after completion of their Northwestern careers.

  • Anyone may nominate a Hall of Fame candidate by contacting any member of the committee. Supporting materials submitted by the nominators will be considered by the committee, but it will be the responsibility of the committee to research all nominees to ensure fair consideration.

  • With the obvious exception of those who are inducted posthumously, inductees must agree to attend the induction ceremony.


Brittany (McBride) Johnson
Dean Farrow
Bill Julson


Bob Battisti
Brandon Christenson


Ramon Byndom
Steve Gale
Dana Gandolfo Mitrovic
Milfred "Mel" Sharp


Howard Gautier
Ryan Hintergardt
Glen Piper
Keith Robinson


Keith Baxter
Mark Buck
Dr. Chandler Mead


Lee Brower
Falynn Burns
Gaylon Nickerson
Steve Nunez


Dr. Steve Lohmann
Joe Phillips
Monica Mayer Schmidt
Victor Williams


Milt Bassett
Debbie Holmes Chappell
Fred Schamburg


Sherina Wood
Don Raleigh


Lynette (Clark) Brown
Patrick Crayton
Daryl Richardson
Stephani (Bontrager) Yunker


Al Hunt
Marlena Johnson
Lynn Scott
Slade Young


Jason Bryant
Stockton Graves
Margo Hamilton
Drew Phillips


Corinn Auld
Troy Brown
Michael W. Mitchel
Brock E. Schnebel, M.D.


Tim Albin
1999 NAIA National Championship Ranger Football Team


Brian Clothier
Jeff Ellison
Michael Perkins
Willie Tennyson


Dennis Rountree
Robert "Bob" Drake
Craig Chestnut


Dr. Yvonne Carmichael
Tommy Griffin
Dustin Miller
Cynthia Garrett Rock


Regi Clark
Ron Hodges
Randy Smith


Clifford Guy
Steve Cooks
Mickey Henderson Stephens
Milburn Barton


Billy Byford
Kayla Haskins
Cecil Perkins
Tom Zanca


Craig "Sleepy" Blake
John "Spike" Harshbarger
Harold Keith
Bailey Vanzant


Ronnie Jones
John W. McCormick Jr.
J. C. Riekenberg
Jim Schroeder


Alice Byrd
Estel "Jelly" Johnson
Ray Troutt
Norman "Doc" Matthews


Wayne Glasgow
A. J. Johnson
Jenks Simmons
Brian Sochia


Herschell Mosier
W. D. Newby
Sanford Newsom
Ray Dean Linder
Donnita Drain


Dr. Jerry Brownrigg
Powell McGuire
Ron Pinckard
Bonnie Stewart


H. L. Brown
Roy Dunn
Art Parkhurst
Frank Wyatt


Lou Wilke
Hank Commodore
Paula Stout Crandall


Phil "Chip" Myers
Bill Massey
Stewart Arthurs


Loyd Stout
Mike Hargrove
Dick Highfill
Fred "Dick" Smith
Walter Johnson



Sports Hall of Fame Luncheon

Success! Your submission has been received!

You have successfully registered for the Sports Hall of Fame 2023 Luncheon on Saturday, January 27. We look forward to seeing you there and celebrating our inductees. If you have any questions, please call 580-327-8593.